As a world-class academic site of excellence, the Université de Lyon has over 140,000 students, 20,000 of whom are international students, and sits in Lyon-Saint-Étienne at the heart of the Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. The Université de Lyon, which is structured around 12 member institutions and 24 associated institutions, has three major goals: :
  • To become a major, attractive and responsible university with a reputation for excellence and innovation, and one which is enriched by strong international outreach;
  • To provide outstanding training and research opportunities in line with current social expectations and change ;
  • To develop and promote the dynamics of the Lyon Saint-Étienne site in conjunction with all regional stakeholders: citizens, organizations, companies and local communities (the metropolises of Lyon and Saint-Étienne and the Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes).

IDEXLYON key figures

A consortium of 12 institutions 3 main academic fields: Biohealth and Society, Sciences and Engineering, Humanity and Urbanity
€800 million endowment, representing 25 million euros per year 8 academic colleges
Over 50 actions planned in 5 key areas 12 laboratories of excellence (LABEX)

Université de Lyon key figures

12 member institutions and 25 associated institutions 1 international Alliance group consisting of a dozen partner universities, across 5 selected geographical areas
140,000 students, including 20,000 international students 1 technology transfer accelerator (SATT Pulsalys)
5400 PhD students Awards: 67 IUF awards between 2011-2017, 61 ERC grants between 2011-2017, 14 awards from the Académie des Sciences between 2011-2017, 2 Nobel prizes (1912, 2005), 1 Fields medal (2010)
6800 researchers and teacher-researchers